Swapping The Studio For Sand

I’ve never been one to pride myself on a wardrobe filled with ‘big name international brands’. I don’t pride myself on owning a Gucci handbag or Prada shoes. I do however take pride in the eclectic collection of clothing that I call my ‘wardrobe’ (or floordrobe when it’s an event filled week).

my wardrobe (2)I have a mix of ope shop finds, vintage gems and a heap of total kitsch but there’s also a ton of local and independent labels.

If you aren’t aware of the fabulous labels right here on our doorstep, you should be. I dont mean omg don’t you know who they are? but there’s so much talent here in Oz that you don’t need to look too hard to find it!

Just like my wardrobe, Australia (and in particular Melbourne) is overflowing with fashion labels who are fast becoming household names both here and overseas. Just take a look at the list of designers showing at VAMFF and you’re sure to recognise more than a few of them.

Melbourne Fashion Festival celebrates it’s 20th birthday this year and it wouldn’t still be a part Melbourne’s extensive event calendar without a ongoing runway of talent. Talent that comes in all styles and colours!

_20160213_112038Rings | Heart of Bone

When I was asked to style the cover story for this year’s festival in The Sunday Age‘s M Magazine. I jumped (up and down) at the chance to play dressups with some of Australia’s finest (and fun-est) fashion.

DSC_0870 (3)

We swapped the studio for sand as the photoshoot took place on location. Simon Schluter is an amazing photographer and will do anything for the perfect photo op, even if that means spending hours erecting a giant temporary box on the beach.

DSC_0876_1 (2)

It was quite the spectacle for swimmers and curious cyclists. Not a bad way to spend a sunny summers day!

THE DREAM TEAM
M Magazine | Cover Story by Rachelle Unreich
Cover Photo | Photography by Simon Schluter
Model | Shanali Martin at Giant Management
Styling | Kristine Walker aka The Human Chameleon
Hair & Makeup | Yvonne Borland

DSC_1622 (2)Dress | Thurley
Sunnies | Ahlem Eyewear from Kloke
Rings | Heart of Bone

DSC_0888 (2)Dress | Nixi Killick
Hat | The Human Chameleon
Hair & Makeup | Yvonne Borland

DSC_0896 (3)Coat | Strateas Carlucci
Swimmers | Pageant
Sunnies | Ahlem Eyewear from Kloke
Rings | Heart of Bone

DSC_0929 (2)Dress | Pageant
Sunnies | ASSK x Onkler
Rings | Heart of Bone


Surfs up!
The Human Chameleon xo


SEEKING A STYLIST?
Just get in touch!
CONTACT THE HUMAN CHAMELEON

2 thoughts on “Swapping The Studio For Sand

Leave a comment