A Hot Date at the Peninsula Hot Springs

Being a creative person, my mind is constantly buzzing with ideas so I find it nearly impossible to just ‘switch off’ and enjoy being ‘in the moment’.

Hot springs are my happy place. They’re one of the few places that allow me to download, disconnect, then reconnect. There’s just something magical about floating around in a giant bath while surrounded by nature.

DSC_0200 (2)

After a rather stressful couple of months (leaving my ‘proper’ job, working on new projects and moving studios while trying to make things and meet deadlines) I thought it was time to take a day off. I didn’t want to spend my day being distracted by ‘work’ and the really long ‘to do list’ sitting on my desk so I decided to drive somewhere out of town for the day.

It took all of about 30 seconds to decide where I should go and after throwing my mermaid swimsuit in a bag, and making a quick call to Prince Charming (who is the only person who can completely distract me from thinking about work / my to do list) we were on our way to the Mornington Peninsula. It might only be a 90 min drive from Melbourne’s CBD but it feels like its worlds away!

I’ve been to the Peninsula Hot Springs many times before but I’ve never indulged at the Spa Dreaming Centre. Usually I just head into the Bathhouse but as this was my first visit to the springs with Prince Charming (who knows how much I enjoy this happy place) and with Valentine’s Day just around the corner, we decided to indulge in an Appetite Package for Two… and indulge we did!

We arrived in time for a delicious lunch in the dreamy wilderness inspired café.

DSC_0061 (2)

We enjoyed a chef’s selection of yummy gourmet salads while looking out onto the treetops that surround the hot springs, and less than 5 minutes after we arrived I had already started to ‘switch off’.

DSC_0054 (2)

I was actually so relaxed that I started yawning, which must have alerted the lovely waitress that it was time to bring over the delicious chocolate pudding I had earlier spied on the menu.

DSC_0074 (2)

Not only did I practically inhale it within seconds (sorry Prince Charming) but it provided me with the sugar fix I needed to get up from the table and head out to the baths.

DSC_0083 (2)

The baths at the Spa Dreaming Centre are fancier than the ones I had been to before at The Bathouse. There’s less of them and they have fancy features, like the Bubble Spa Couch and the Falling Water Massage.

DSC_0099 (2)

DSC_0144 (2)

After a couple of hours relaxing in the hot pools, cold plunge pools (Prince Charming braved these, not I), hamam and sauna, it was time for some serious pampering.

DSC_0114 (2)

We showered, popped on a dry robe and made our way into the centre’s relaxation room for some relaxation time, before our relaxation massages. There was a LOT of relaxing!

DSC_0317 (2)

I chose a traditional relaxation massage while Prince Charming chose a kodo massage (inspired by traditional Australian Aboriginal techniques). I enjoy almond oil in a stir-fry and salad but I think that having it massaged all over my body is my new favourite thing! It’s not your average almond oil!

DSC_0300 (2)

After our massage therapists had finished working their magic (and just in case we weren’t relaxed and pampered enough) we were shown back to the relaxation room for some hot tea.

DSC_0376 (2)

Then when we were nice and re-hydrated we headed down to The Bathouse and bathed a little while longer… until the sun set and we were asked very politely to leave as they were closing.

DSC_0415 (2)

It seems that I had indeed ‘switched off’… even to the fact that we were the last ones floating about. Oops!

DSC_0161 (2)

If you’re wanting to indulge in a getaway for a day (or two) to relax, unwind and ‘switch off’, throw your bathers (or mermaid suit) in a bag and head over to the Peninsula Hot Springs.

DSC_0216 (2)

If you can’t make it in time for Valentine’s Day then perhaps tell Prince Charming that they do gift certificates… perfect for spoiling any Princess…and her Prince!

DSC_0109 (2)

Big love,
The Human Chameleon.

MERMAID SCALES
Sequin Swimmers | Rosa Bloom from Showroom Shoreditch
Sparkly Sunnies | Dolce & Gabbana from Sunglass Hut

Leave a comment